Surprise- I’m Still Here

12 Mar

I would apologize for not keeping the blog up to date, but it would be a bit hollow.  I mean, sure, I feel guilty that I haven’t kept up with it; but since most of my followers are my family, I don’t feel too too bad. Sorry guys!

Work is still plugging along. I continue to try to find a balance between working too much and not working enough, but that’s kindof the story of my life. Since my friend/ co-worker left the company for another job (which she loves), the work place has been  a drag, to be honest. I like staying busy and being helpful, but I work with two guys who (though wonderful people), are each a bit of a recluse.  Plus, it’s hard to share all my excitement about becoming a mom with these two older single guys!

And boy am I excited. I talk about it with my friends and family all the time. I actually think they’re getting bored of hearing me babble on and on, but tough! That’s what family is for- to torture! Ha! As of now, I’m 26 weeks and 5 days- only 13 more weeks to go! I’m definitely showing (finally), but I haven’t actually gained any weight. Seeing as I’ve had plenty of extra weight, anyway, I’m not so worried about that. But I’m paranoid that Baby C isn’t growing fast enough. (She’s in the 14% percentile, and anything under 10% is cause for concern). I’ve decided that even after being told to not worry by all my support network, including my doctor, that I’m not going to just suck it up. My next doctor appointment I’m going to ask them to eliminate the possible medical reasons that she isn’t growing fast enough, or I will find another practice to go to who will address my concerns. So there- Tiger Mom is on the loose!

One thing that is reassuring is that I know she’s very active- she kicks me like a pro. Sometimes I swear she’s practicing her rabbit punches on my bladder. Yikes! Once I was in the grocery store and for a few seconds, I actually thought I was going to pee my pants. Cheeky little baby-  But I’m glad she’s active and still has some room to ‘dance’.

I’ve been busy on the weekends fixing up the nursery. My latest accomplishment is the closet. Here’s a bad cell phone picture:

Getting ready for all those toys!

I have recently been introduced to baby consignment stores- so you can see I’ve already started stocking up. I know, I know, it’s ridiculous to have so many clothes already. But at $1 to $5 a piece, it’s hard to pass up the cuteness! And so many friends have generously donated some large items, that we can afford to have fun with the clothes.

That’s right, I’ve already had a crib, swing, bouncer, car seat, stroller, bath tub, bassinet, packnplay, and jumperoo leant to us. (Plus LOTS of clothes- the girl is going to be well dressed!) And the parents bought us a changing station- so all we’ve had to buy is a mattress and closet organizer. I think the only other big expenses left are breast pump, high chair, baby carrier and cloth diapers. Yay!

I do have a baby shower in May, and I’m really excited about it! I’ve asked if I can help any, and my mom’s response was, “Just try to be nice.” Ha!! She’s got my number, doesn’t she? At 8 months pregnant and temperatures reaching the low 90s (hello southern springs)- it will actually be a challenge for me to be pleasant.  So I think I will have my work cut out for me!

Well- that’s all for now.  Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

