Virtual Decorators, Unite!

14 Sep

Pinterest, where have you been all my life? You have saved me from decorator’s overload and helped keep my dream of redecorating our sad living room alive. Thank you thank you thank you!

For those of you who don’t know, I have a small passion for home improvement, which includes decorating (and doing whole-house remodels that require the demolition of half my house). For the past 5 years, I’ve kept 3-ring binders full of magazine pictures that I find inspiring. I have these pictures organized by topic: garden, kitchen, bathroom, home improvements, etc. But this last year, I’ve had to give up my magazine subscriptions in order to pay the mortgage. (Funny how going down to one paycheck a month forces you to prioritize your expenses. This was not an easy decision- magazine inspirations or roof over my head, hmmmm.)

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes- Pinterest. So in the age of online webizines, Pinterest has become my virtual 3-ring binder. Here’s how it works: Your organize your ‘pins’ into ‘boards’. These ‘pins’ are basically links to websites where you found something interesting. You click on the “Pin It” button that is installed on your web browser when you sign up and the website does the rest! You decide what picture you want associated with the pin and what ‘board’ you want to pin it to. These ‘boards’ are basically organizational tools. They give you a standard set of boards when you sign up, but I changed mine to include: DIY, Living Room Mood Board, For the Home, Baby Room, and My Style.

For example, I went to a blog I follow, Pure and Noble, and saw this picture. I think this would be perfect in my Living Room!

So I clicked the “Pin It” button on my web browser and a window pops up with all the images from that page.  I pick the picture and select which board to pin it to. (Living Room Mood Board.) Voila! Done.

Here’s what my Living Room Mood Board looks like now:

Living Room Mood Board

Photo of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pinPhoto of a pin

What I love about it is now I can see all the pictures that inspired me and have links to their original sites. Awesome! I can see now that I have a theme in mind for our living room: light grey and yellow with lots of reflective surfaces. I didn’t realize this until I saw the board all together. How cool is that!? Now I can spend the next several months saving up money so we can make all the big purchases at once. This will keep the room cohesive and keep me on target! Love it.
You can follow my pins (and others as well) if you join Pinterest. Here’s my link- Robin Cailloux. Take a look around and see if this would be helpful to you!
Oh- and wish me luck at my job interview today. I’ll let you know how it goes soon.
Leave a Reply

