Accessorize

9 Sep

That’s all these little guys needed- a little bling!

As I continue to de-stash, I knit up two little sweaters from a skein of natural fingering weight wool I had hanging around. But to my dismay, they didn’t turn out as I had hoped. The first project was the Baby Bamboo Singlet tank top. In this yarn, it just looks bland:

So bland...

I didn’t add the flower on the pattern because I’m trying to stay gender neutral. But man, this bad boy needs some bling up in here!

I trucked my butt back up to Hancock fabrics to look at cute buttons to add on the shoulder to cover the not-so-pretty first attempt of sewing snaps. (Notice the strategic lack of close-up photo. Nothing to see here folks, there’s no one behind the curtain, and these are not the droids you’re looking for. )

I found a pack of multi-colored felt buttons. They’re not real buttons and can’t be used as such, but they’re perfect for adding some pizzaz or covering up botched attempts of hand-sewing. I decided to focus attention away from the disaster snaps.

Not bland!

So here’s a question. Should I add more bling?  I tend to go for the simple graphic punches, but  I’m contemplating adding some more buttons.

More bling?

Or less bling?

3 Responses to “Accessorize”

  1. Gail Bechtel September 9, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    More bling – looks great! What disaster Can’t see it!

  2. Sam September 9, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    You know what I’m always going to say… you can never have too much bling.

  3. Abbey September 12, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Bling it up!

Leave a Reply

