A Little Ray of Sun for a Cloudy Day

1 Aug

It’s cloudy here under the giant tree canopy of Grant Park, so I think it’s a perfect day to reveal the completed Sunnyside Cardigan, a free pattern from the Tanis Fiber Arts. I knit the 6-12 month size in Shalimar Breathless in the Glacial colorway. In real life, the color is a bit more turquoise than showing up here.

This little cardigan has multiple design options, so I picked the zig-zag lace detail and the garter stitch hem:

Sunnyside with zig-zag lace

 

Sunnyside garter hem option

The lace goes around the back of the arms, too:

And I chose real mother-of-pearl buttons to compliment the lovely sheen of the Breathless yarn.

Mother of Pearl Button

I love how the stitches are defined in this yarn- I wish I could afford enough yarn to knit a sweater for myself. But at $32 a skein, it would be close to $130 for one sweater- yikes!

Stitches detail in Breathless- garter, lace and stockinette

 

Well, my knitting show-and-tell is going to slow down this week. I’m designing my first toddler sweater from scratch and boy- does that take some time! I’m very excited to reveal the finished product, but I want it to be as close to perfect before I do. I plan on distributing it free on this blog for a while and then see if I can sell it on Ravelry. Wouldn’t it be nice if I could make some money doing what I love?  Imagine…

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a sunny week!

 

 

Leave a Reply

