March of the Elephants

26 Jul

My first modification/ design:

Homage to Bellyphant by Looking Glass Knits

 

Ta da! The Marching Elephants sweater is done- I’m so proud. I took the Sheep Yoke pattern and substituted these marching elephants. Looking Glass Knits, the designer of the free Sheep Yoke pattern also designed a pattern called Bellyphant that I used to help me figure out how to make elephants look like elephants. But I made some changes that are more reminiscent of the Sheep Yoke.  Like this:

Back detail- Elephant Butt!

Isn’t that adorable?! Instead of a cheeky little sheep looking out at you, it’s the cheeky butt of an elephant.  I even gave it a tail, but it’s hard to photograph:

Fuzzy tail for the Elephant Butt

And I added a little extra splash to the design on the front two elephants:

Front elephants playing in the water

I am really pleased with the outcome, and this sweater will last future little pebbles for a while- it’s kindof a big 6-12 month size. I think if I make this design again in the future, I will choose less-fuzzy yarn so the detail pop more. And I’ll make sure the accent color pops more against the light grey- maybe red or green.

Well- thanks for stopping by and checking out my handywork.  It makes my day to share this with ya’ll- thanks again!

 

 

 

4 Responses to “March of the Elephants”

  1. Myriad July 26, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Very cute! I love the elephant behind and the spraying elephants–gives it so much more personality!

    • Robin July 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks! I had fun knitting this up.

  2. Sam July 28, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    I really like the elephants Robin… they are super cute.

  3. Caroline July 12, 2012 at 3:17 am #

    Robin, was it you who wrote on Ravelry that ” I modified the pattern and moved the elephants to the yoke. I’m happy to share the excel spreadsheet I made for the yoke to anyone interested. Just PM me!”

    If so, I couldn’t figure out how to SEND A PM on Ravelry but I would love to use elephants rather than sheep when I make this for my grandson. Would you still be willing to share?

Leave a Reply

