Another Life Lesson from Knitting

23 Jul

So when you fail, that does not make you a failure.  I have to repeat this mantra to myself as I rip out all my work on the Sunnyside Cardigan. Yup, I’m starting over. When you fail, you are not a failure.

Say Goodbye to my little friend

I’ve made many mistakes on this pattern- first I made too many increases on the front of the cardigan.  I made some decreases to correct this mistake, just hoping that the button band lace detail would hide the mistake. Not too bad- keep knitting.

Then I realized that I had been knitting the lace pattern incorrectly. I had used the SSK (Slip Slip Knit) stitch when I should have been using the K2tog (Knit 2 together) stitch. Ugh- this is kindof a big deal. But I sucked it up and decided that no one would really  notice unless they are knitters themselves. So I begrudgingly continued, refusing to correct my mistake because then it would be obvious.

Then this morning, I made a mistake when dividing for the sleeves and maintained the lace pattern under the armpit.  Oh no! That means I’ll have this weird double lace pattern running down the inside seam.  I can’t hide that mistake. Time to admit that this attempt at the Sunnyside Cardigan is not working out, and to start over.

Funny thing- I don’t actually feel that bad over this. (What? Who are you and what have you done with my Little Pebble?) This is a huge change in my behavior pattern. Normally I would beat myself up for being so stupid and inexperienced to make so many of these mistakes on one garment. But- I don’t feel that way. In fact, I’m kindof relieved to get a chance to make it right. I’m actually excited about trying something for a second time! Wow- who have I become?  I hardly recognize myself.  Is this what knitting will teach you?  If so, I’m so glad I picked up the needles and taught myself to knit- seems I’m teaching myself all kinds of new habits.

Well, thanks for stopping by. I would love to know if you learned a life lesson in an unexpected way.  Drop me a note and let me know!

2 Responses to “Another Life Lesson from Knitting”

  1. Tim Cailloux July 23, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Yea! Attempt 2 will be perfect.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIP Wednesday- On the Needles | Little Pebble - July 27, 2011

    […] got the Sunnyside Cardigan back to the place where it was when I decided to pull the ‘do-over’ card. I’m very pleased with how it’s coming along, and how the zig-zag lace looks now that […]

Leave a Reply

