I’m on a Roll

21 Jul

It’s another great day in the Great Yarn De-stash! Here’s the most recent, the Maile Newborn Cardigan by Niki Van De Car. I made a big dent in the Shalimar Breathless in Columbine- I love the sheen and color variation that this yarn adds to the pattern. You can see from the picture that I think the sleeves are a bit long, so I rolled one up to see what it would look like. Not bad!

This little cutie knit up really quickly on a US 4 circular needle, but I probably won’t try to make this pattern again. I really didn’t like how the sleeves are constructed. I don’t like to sew any seams up because they always end up bulky and ugly- that’s why I usually always knit sleeves in the round. But this pattern (with the lace at the armpits) precludes this type of construction.

I choose real pearl buttons I got from Sheepish in Decatur. They are just the right combination with the lovely Breathless yarn. This is a tiny sweater, (another reason it knit up so quickly) probably just right for a newborn.

OK- what’s next in the Great Yarn De-stash? Maybe something ridiculously colorful?

Thanks for stopping by!

2 Responses to “I’m on a Roll”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIP Wednesday- On the Needles | Little Pebble - July 27, 2011

    […] interesting to me how much different this yarn feels from the previous yarn I used in Maile. Both are Shalimar Breathless, which has a combination of wool, cashmere and silk. But this […]

  2. Blocking and Rolling | Little Pebble - July 29, 2011

    […] you think it’s all worth it. I decided to block both the Marching Elephants sweater and the Maile […]

Leave a Reply

