Challenge Accepted

19 Jul

He doesn’t know it, but Handsome Hubby has offered me a challenge- and I have accepted! After expressing the interest in getting a spinning wheel, he casually mentioned that I have, uhumm, alot of yarn. Why yes, yes I do.

So taking the subtle hint (so subtle he probably didn’t even hear it himself), I have decided to make a considerable dent in my yarn stash before I start spinning my own. Consider this: Challenge Accepted!

So what do I do with a bunch of half-skeins of many many colors? It’s not enough to make a sweater or even a tank top- and I’m not buying anymore yarn. So accessories, socks and baby clothes it is. And here’s my first finished object (FO for you guys in the know): Sheep Yoke Baby Cardigan, a free pattern from Looking Glass Knits

 

 

Sheep Yoke Cardi

I did a bit of modification because I didn’t think I had enough brown to finish it. So I added light and dark pink stripes, and made the sleeves a bit shorter- maybe 3/4 length.  Some details:

Sheep close-up and cute wooden buttons!

 

Sweater back- cheeky fellow peeking back at ya!

 

I added french knots to flowers

 

Not too shabby for my first attempt at ‘stranding’, a technique of adding multiple colors into a project. But I’m looking at my stash full of browns, yellows, reds, greens and oranges- boy, I’m going to have to knit a lot of baby sweaters to get through all this yarn! So, what project should I start next?

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Challenge Accepted”

  1. Rachel Berry July 19, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    It’s so cute! You did a great job 🙂 Ever think about making knitting covers for cloth diapers?

    • Robin July 19, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      Ooo- what a good idea! And I can make matching covers for each sweater if I have leftover yarn. Thanks! I’m going to get on that!

Leave a Reply

