WIP Wednesday and Other Tidbits

29 Jun

Hello everyone! Thanks for coming by to see what’s going on. You know it’s Wednesday- so time for the exciting “Works in Progress” update.  If you say it like the “Pigs in Space” skits from the Muppets, it’s much more amusing.

When last we left our intrepid knitter, Dr. Strangeyarn, she was facing down  the evil shawlette, Orchid Thief. After several gruelling skrimishes within Chart 4, Dr. Strangeyarn came to realize that she could simply not break the code. But with all the time and energy invested in battling this villan, she refused to give in and accept defeat. So, our knitting hero devised a cunning ‘work around’. Yup, if you can’t figure it out- make it up!

Our dashing hero added several rows of garter stitch to mark the transition from Chart 3 and Chart 4- just so it would be less confusing. Then she started knitting the rows exactly as published, marking the leaf centers of each repeat. As she progressed deeper into Chart 4, she simply added stitches when things didn’t match up, and subtracted stitches a few times, too. So cleaver!

Here’s the progress so far:

Orchid Thief Shawlette- a.k.a. the Villan

 

WIP- Orchi Thief showing Chart 4 progress above garter ridge

 

Orchid Thief Chart 4 Transition Work-Around: Close Up

So tune in next week when our hero travels deeper into un-charted territory to match needles with the dreaded Orchid Thief. Who will prevale?  Will the universe be ruled by the evil Orchid Thief, or will children sleep soundly everywhere knowing that our hero has finally conquered the villan? Find out next week on, “Wooooooorks innnnnn Progresssssss”

Ha Ha- that was fun! I’ve used up all my creativity for one post, so the rest will be pretty standard. I dove into the Smocked Dress on Monday, determined to finish this puppy up. And I did!

WIP- Smocked Dress Completed!

Smocked Dress Button Close-Up

Isn’t it sweet? Now I’ll put this away until Liza grows into it- hee hee!

I haven’t made any progress on dad’s socks- but my new dpn needles came in yesterday, so I can switch to these on his sock- they are shorter, so it makes knitting in the round much easier.

And as a bonus, I got Luxury Yarn One Skein Wonders for free! Well- not exactly. When I ordered the new set of bamboo dpn, I could add this book to the order and get free shipping. Since the difference between the $25 minimum for free shipping was the same amount as the book, I like to tell myself that I got the book for free. Hey- I could pay shipping and not get the book, or I could get the book and not pay for shipping.  It all cost the same- so it was a no brainer!

Now I get the fun of shopping for a new project using the lace-weight yarn mom brought me from the Finger Lakes. Oh Boy!

Sneak-Peak of New Friend

2 Responses to “WIP Wednesday and Other Tidbits”

  1. Gail Bechtel June 29, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    BEEEYOUUUUUUUTIFUL. Except what is the yellow thingy? Sneak preview??????

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WIP Wednesday- On the Needles | Little Pebble - July 27, 2011

    […] two projects. The oldest project on the needles is the Lowell Cowl I started in June. It’s showed up before on the WIP list, but now I’ve graduated to the final color combination. Here’s so […]

Leave a Reply

