Life Update

25 Jun

Hi there! I don’t have any pretty pictures to share, but I do have some news.  I’m going back to work!  Yay!

After the trauma of the ectopic pregnancy and dealing with the emotional aftermath- I’ve come to realize that I need some _____ (insert noun here) in my life. Control? Stability? Purpose? Direction?

This last year has been a whirlwind of a year, and I’ve learned a great deal about myself.  I’ve also learned that there are some things I am simply powerless against. I can’t force my body to conceive a child- no matter how many drugs I take or how I change my diet. I simply have to accept that it will happen when/ if it happens.

But there are some things I can influence and change in my life. Like how I spend my time. I love knitting, and I can spend a lot of time doing it. But- I can’t make it a career. Some people have- but it’s not for me. And sitting around knitting all day has come to feel a lot like I’m just waiting for my life to start. So enough already- let’s get it kick started!

I contacted my old boss and we had a nice dinner last night chatting about why I left, what hasn’t changed at the office, what has changed, kids, the neighborhood- you name it, we talked about it. I got a chance to explain what I’ve learned this past year and what I’m looking for at the job. She had a chance to explain what type of employee she’s looking for and what her managing style is like. I have kind-of figured this out working for her, but it was great to hear it from her.

My timing is pretty good, too. (As good as it can be in these economic times). Two of her part-time staff are leaving next week. So she’s going to look at the work backlog (very shallow) and get in touch with me next week. She thinks she will only need me part time at first until she wins some more projects; but this works for me!

So Yay for direction, Yay for purpose, Yay for stability, and Yay for a paycheck!

Happy weekend everyone! Thanks for stopping by.

2 Responses to “Life Update”

  1. Gail Bechtel June 25, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    So glad you finally had a chance to get together – wasn’t too sure that would happen with the storms and all. And it sounds like the start of good communication with her, too. So CONGRATS on moving forward with this choice and with a paycheck, too! Me 🙂

  2. Rae Lynne June 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

    Thank you so much for stopping by my blog today! I love knowing who my readers are, and it was great to be able to find a link back to yours. 🙂 I’ve checked out a couple of your most recent posts and I’ve really enjoyed reading them. Good luck getting back in to the work force. Some days I hate working, while other days it brings me a lot of peace. Okay – mostly the peaceful days are in the summer when school is dismissed for kids…lol

    Your shawl is looking gorgeous by the way, and you’re right…some times it just takes buckling down and getting it done so you can enjoy the end result!

Leave a Reply

