I think I can, I think I can…

10 Jun

I’m slowly getting back to normal here. I’m not able to do too much knitting as sitting in place for too long is painful. I’m also sleeping alot- which makes knitting a challenge.  I still haven’t mastered the knitting-while-sleeping-technique that I’m sure so many other knitters have due to their prodigious array of finished projects.

In the knit blog world, it seems that everyone is at TNNA in Ohio this week. Jealous! I’ll have to make a trip next year (or in the fall when they’re in Baltimore).  I think it would be cool to visit some regional fiber shows, too, like the Southeastern Animal Fiber Festival in Asheville at the peak of autumn leaf season. Drool.

I’m drooling over this new book on my Amazon wish list, too, Harvesting Color by Rebecca Burgess. I’ve really got the bug to dye now that I’ve tried it, and this author gives recipes for natural dyes harvested in your own back yard. I love it- no chemical or metal dyes harming the environment or my body, just good old fashioned (and stunning) dyes from local plants.  Who knew that eucalyptus creates a soft yellow dye? I do now, thanks to Ms. Burgess.

Harvesting Color book cover by Rebecca Burgess

I’m going to do some research on tax deductions. Can I deduct the cost of yarn and dye if I donate the finished project to charity? How about my time, can I take credit for that? I don’t even know where to look for this information without having to hire a CPA. Hmmmmm…….

 

 

One Response to “I think I can, I think I can…”

  1. Lois June 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I vote for the Baltimore festival! Hope the recovery is going well. Nothing like sleep – my favorite!

Leave a Reply

