I Feel Dyeabolical

2 Jun

I screwed my courage to the sticking place and dyed my sock yarn this afternoon. I have tons of pictures to share, so let’s get started!

Greener Shades Organic Dyes

I was extra careful with the setup, and I’m really glad I was. I get stressed when things get messy, so a good setup was essential to a dye-tastic time! Dyes were kept carefully closed, paper towels were at hand, and a towel on the floor incase there were any spills.

Rubber gloves to keep my hands dye-free, a pot of hot water on the stove and a pot of warm water beside. You can see the “Redo” skein soaking in the water. I wanted to add more blue to the color selection so the hat I make with the yarn will appear more masculine. I don’t know why- but some guys don’t like too much yellow.  Here’s what it looked like afterwards:

Then into the presoak for the next skein of un-dyed sock yarn I got from the Kentucky Sheep and Fiber Festival:

I used the remainder of the blue dye on the next few skeins. Here’s a close up of the yarn in the pot (not anything like a chicken in the pot).

Here are the three blue skeins hanging outside to drip dry. Cut me a little bit of slack on the picture quality- the sun was directly overhead, so the colors aren’t quite right. I’ll re-skein the yarn and take better pictures in the near future.

The one on the far right is the first one using the remaining bright blue dye. Then I added a bit of midnight black and got a lovely navy color I used on the second skein shown in the center. I love ombre- so all my work today was one big ombre experiment! The one on the far left is the least dyed one with just spots of blue.

So with blue out of my system- let’s try some RED!

Red Dye- Not Enough

Although it’s a beautiful color, the red above will actually dye a light pink. I don’t want pink- I want deep bold red!! So in goes another 1/8 tsp of Ruby Red Dye. Hmmm, test results not acceptable. Still too cherry red:

So how do you make a deep red? Well, add black of course!

Ahh, deep beautiful black cherry red. The first skein gets a full solid dunk in the pot. The second skein gets the ombre treatment. The results:

I know, I know- the pictures don’t do the color justice. So I re-skeined the ombre one and put the solid black cherry on the ball winder. Here are some pictures:

Black Cherry Ombre, Midnight Blue Ombre, and River Blue Ombre Re-skeined

Closeup of Black Cherry Ombre

Close Up of Cloudy

Well- I’m hooked on dying yarn. Now what am I going to do with all this?  Looks like there’s going to be lots of socks given this Christmas!

Leave a Reply

