I know it’s been a while. . .

17 May

Wow- May 9th was my last post- yikes!  I haven’t been slacking, though, I just don’t have anything interesting to post. I’ve started two new knitting projects, both socks, and I’m about half way through the first sock for each pair. I’m excited about both patterns- in the Helix sock, I’m learning the Left Twist stitch. It creates a textured ridge circling down the sock. Here’s a picture of the pattern, but I’m using a raspberry red sock yarn instead of the yellow shown here.

The other sock is the Sockstravaganza- and it includes some fair isle work and cabling. I picked colors very similar to those shown here in the pattern picture.

Both patterns are from Brave New Knits, and I’m eyeing other patterns in the book, too. I would love to do some more fair isle work. I learned on the sock that the yarn carried in the back must be left very loose or it won’t stretch. This is a big deal on a sock- I’ve had to alter the pattern to be an anklet sock because I knit the band too tight to go around my calf. I think on a sweater, it wouldn’t be such a critical issue. I’m also learning to knit cables- this takes a lot of mental concentration since I loose my place in the pattern a lot. Last night I had to Tink about 8 rows because I realized I had misplaced a front cable with a back cable. It just looks messy if it’s not done exactly right.

In other knitting news, I tried my hand at knitting a shawl, but realize that I REALLY need lace needles to work with lace yarn. So next month when I have a little extra money, I’ll buy a few lace needles. Those lace projects will have to wait- but I’m very excited about the yarn I’ve chosen- Cascade Alpaca Lace Paints in a beautiful blue/teal mixture.  Here’s some pattern options from Ravelry:

I’m not a fan of this purple (or most purples for that matter) but I’m intrigued by the combination of geometric and organic patterns. Here’s som more organic patterns:

May Morning Shawl

North Roe Shawl

So do you have any preferences? It will be done in a dark blue/teal, so which pattern do you think is your favorite?

Drop me a note and let me know which one you like best. I’ll be back to share some pictures of my new yarn, once I learn how to use the fancy camera. Thanks for stopping by!

2 Responses to “I know it’s been a while. . .”

  1. Abbey May 17, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Hi ya! The shawl that’s shown in purple looks so glamorous, but the May Morning Shawl looks more comfortable and casual, so more versatile and better for for everyday wear. So my vote is for the May Morning Shawl! 🙂

    Good luck!! xoxo

    • Robin May 17, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! I like the May Morning, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

