If You’re My Mom- Don’t Read This Post Yet

9 May

I was supposed to hand these puppies over to my mom for mother’s day, but fate had other plans. Phew- this has been one exciting knitting project. So like I said in the header- if you’re my mom- quit reading until you get your mother’s day presant!

I started with the Tuscany pattern from Melissa Morgan-Oaks, but I found (after a day of knitting) that the pattern would not stretch enough to put the sock on. It includes lots of slipped stitches, and if you don’t make them loose enough- this sock will not work.  Frustrated, I chose another pattern of hers called Twist of Fate. A simple ribb patter that twists up the leg. Here’s a close-up:

No cable needles required.  I would like to try cables on socks soon, but I knew I didn’t have enough time if I wanted to give these to my mom for mother’s day. It was already heartbreaking to rip out a day’s worth of knitting, so I chose to be kind to myself and pick a simple pattern.

Picking up the stitches after ripping out on small sock-weight yarn was really tough! Once I got it secure, I Tinked for another four rows until I was sure I had all the stitches in the correct place.

I like how the yarn stripping worked out as mirror opposites. Where it’s green on one sock, it’s pink and brown on the other. Groovy!

Here’s a parting shot- you can see that Ira the Terrible approves. Thanks for stopping by!

One Response to “If You’re My Mom- Don’t Read This Post Yet”

  1. Gail Bechtel May 11, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Hey, are those my socks?! I love them. Thank you so very much!
    Luv, Mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

