Reporting for Duty

21 Feb

I had these guys all lined up for my 4 am wake-up call: local honey, yeast, organic buter, sea salt and some vegetable oil. So when 4 AM came- they were measured and ready to go in the mixer with the biga and soaker. The soaker was super-sticky, so no pictures, my hands were not up for the shot. But the loaf came together very nicely, as seen here after its second rise:

 

I have to admit- the dough was really sticky, and making me a bit nervous. But I split it into two and loaded my motley crew loaf pans:

I had a problem with the steam bath during cooking, so I’m going to have to do some research. Even though I got the water to boil on the stovetop, I could not for the life of me get it to boil in the oven. At 350 degrees, the water should have been boiling. I’m not sure if my water bath was too deep, so I’ll have to do some research. Any way, the little loaf was over-baked. But the larger loaf came out beautifully:

The loaf is now cooling on the rack, and I’m getting ready to bake the mini bundt cakes.  I’m thinking coffee cake- maybe it’s the 4 AM wake up call, but that sounds perfect right now.

One Response to “Reporting for Duty”

  1. Gail February 21, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    YUM, YUM. YUM! I am the recipient of part of this production. When you open the bags the smell is delicious. Gets the juices going right away. Going to fix a fresh pot of coffee and sit down with one of the mini bundts. Hey guys, worth every penny!

Leave a Reply

